Practice 5.10-5.13.14

My knee is healed – hallelujah! The gods of rest, ice, and anti-inflammatories are a reliable bunch. Now I can bend and extend without feeling like I’m playing Russian Roulette with my MCL. Amen.

Angelina’s Saturday morning fast flow class was terrific. Three days removed now, I can’t remember the exact order of events, but we did tons of shoulder and hip opening (tree, humble warrior, dolphin, etc)  in addition to the normal sun salutations (A and B) and handstand practice. It all led up to flying pigeon, which is one of my favorite postures. She spoke about how bird poses use the shoulders like wings in order to create the sensation of a proud, soaring chest. So true. Tweet, tweet.

Sunday brought pilates mat class and Kate’s Iyengar-style flow class. Both were fine. Kate also taught a ton of shoulder and hip opening stuff, but it led up to a bound sequence – side angle, bird of paradise, and half moon. Tricky stuff! It’s always interesting to me how each side of the body can be so different. Balancing on my left foot, I could extend my right leg fully, but my transition into half moon was a bit precarious and I ultimately backed off because I didn’t want to re-injure my knee. Balancing on my right foot, my transitions were beautiful, but I couldn’t extend my left leg in bird of paradise. Maybe one day I’ll even out.

Yesterday, I went to TRX and Jasmine’s Iyengar-style flow class. I was worried that TRX would be bothersome on my knee, but the only modifications I needed were for the hamstring exercises. Such a relief! Jasmine’s class was OK. It was nice, mindful class and her teaching style is really lovely, but I am so tired of thoracic work. I understand why it’s important, but it doesn’t need to be the focus of class every other week. I hope she teaches something completely different next week or at least mixes things up a bit.

Today, I’ve been busy and didn’t have a chance to get on my mat, but I walked everywhere. I’ll have more time for yoga tomorrow.

Happy belated Mother’s Day! I hope your celebrations were lovely. My day was simply wonderful – pilates, yoga, lunch at my favorite lunch spot, this gorgeous addition to my yoga wardrobe, and lots of love from my husband and three fabulous kids. I’m a lucky gal, indeed.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

